Rose and Rising

IMG_4542Bright heat
has me drifting
into dark cool spaces
hiding

but this delicate rose breath
riding
evening’s cool breeze
lifting
relentless heat
stirring
something in me
still breathing

touching me there
I begin a blossom affair

ascending with solstice
your sweet peach scent
sending shivers

lighting me up

lingering
admiring
your unfolding layers
conspiring
to pull me in

I see you there
shining

sweet
light
delectable

edible?
I take a nibble

ouch
hurt a little

impressive thorns
perhaps born
of many wounds

yet you dare to share
so much of yourself

I see you

drawing me in
until the sun sets
once again

As I ride the waves
of your aromatic aerial offering
over the horizon

Leave a Reply

