The Language of Silence: Micropoems from February Week 4

Each week I harvest a few small poems and haikus I wrote inspired by writing prompts (such as @microprompt on Twitter). This month’s are mostly haikus, because it’s National Haiku Writing Month! #NaHaiWriMo

silencea muffled morning
melancholy mist moves through
only crows are up


you are the same moon
that stopped by last month, yet still
see you with fresh eyes


if only you would
speak the language of silence
I’d understand you


a walk in the woods
creeks and tree and dirt oh my!
therapy for free


a neighborhood stroll
a little girl waves to me
jasmine in the air


Competing urges:
Untangle or entangle
or find some third way


Wake with heart smiles
Our 40-day dream is just
Tip of the iceberg


as she unfurls
touching all the other ferns
my frond freezes up


Wild Sunday sex
gives me oxytocin buzz
and crooked glasses


I awake to find
my fingers still smell like you
early morning treat

Leave a Reply

